New board for Umgeni Water

09 May 2019 | Web Article Number: ME201914522

Water & Effluent Management

ZIPHOZETHU Gabsie Mathenjwa has been re-appointed as the chairperson of Umgeni Water.

This was announced by the office of Water and Sanitation Minister Gugile Nkwinti recently. Her appointment, along with 13 other board members, will take immediate effect and be for a term of four years.

Until the announcement, Umgeni Water had a board that was appointed in 2017 for a fixed term and chaired by Mathenjwa. The other members of the new board are Professor Thandwa Mthembu, Siboniso Shabalala, Mduduzi Eric Zakwe, Nompumelelo Beata Chamane, Visvin Reddy, William Mapena, Teboho Nkhahle, Linda Ngcobo, Bongekile Zulu, Suleman Badat, Mbali Barbra Ndlovu, Advocate Simose Nkosi Chamane and Thamsanqa Hlongwa (Chief Executive).

Umgeni Water has seven municipal customers: eThekwini Metro; the District Municipalities of uMgungundlovu, Ugu, Harry Gwala, iLembe and uThukela, and Msunduzi Local Municipality. Umgeni Water supplies potable water in bulk to these municipalities.

Mathenjwa said: "I am delighted that finality has been reached on appointment of a permanent board. This move will further instil stakeholder confidence and play a pivotal role in ensuring that added strength and energy are given to oversight.

“The new board has an important role to play in ensuring the organisation stays focused on high quality delivery, in governance performance and the results it produces in product quality, infrastructure implementation and, equally importantly, on the six million consumers that receive safe drinking water treated by Umgeni Water. This will continue to be done so that the high standards to which Umgeni Water subscribes and operates are consistently maintained.”

Related Articles