Crushing it! Health and safety achievers awarded

16 September 2020 | Web Article Number: ME202020532

Materials Handling & Bulk Handling
Mining & Quarrying

SEVERAL companies and individuals from KwaZulu-Natal were among the winners at this year’s health and safety awards held by surface mining industry association, ASPASA.

Rather than a formal ceremony the association opted for a large-scale online meeting with all winners and stakeholders present to share in the achievements of recipients.

In line with previous years, the awards also proved the growing move towards establishing safer working environments and reflected a significant average score increase over the previous year.

According to independent auditor, Marius van Deventer, the overall audit scores of all ASPASA members audited during 2019 and the vast majority of participants increased their audit scores over the previous year.

Crushing it! Health and safety achievers awarded
Among the winners at this year’s ASPASA ISHE awards were Emmanuel Abraham, previous Lafarge Stanger quarry manager and current Lafarge Ridgeview quarry manager, Niel Els, Lafarge area manager and Alexandra Wynne, current Lafarge Stanger quarry manager

“It seems unfair to single out only a few winners this time, but these are truly deserving winners in an industry-segment that is widely acknowledged as the best in the industry for HSE,” he said.

The ASPASA ISHE Audits of 2019 Award winners were:

  • Top performer
    Raumix Aggregates Crushco
  • Top independent performer
    Midmar Crushers
  • Consistency in achieving Showplace status for 5 years or more
    Afrimat Harrismith (7 years)
    Afrisam Newcastle (12 years)
    Lafarge Stanger (5 years)
  • Most improved operations
    Afrimat Dingwell
    Afrimat Palmiet
    Afrimat Bethlehem
  • Health and Safety Management Awards for outstanding commitment
    Raumix Aggregates – Johann Pretorius
    Lafarge – Elton Goosen
    Lafarge – Peter Eddie
    Afrimat – Brian Wevell
    Afrimat – Steven Jansen van Vuuren
  • Health and Safety Officer
    Charity Mujuru – Raumix Aggregates Willows
    Willem Msiza – Raumix Aggregates Alfa Sand
    Manqoba Moyana – Lafarge Nelspruit
    Laurencia Maphumelo – Midmar Crushers
  • Operations Manager – Health and Safety
    Anthony Bowen – Lafarge
    Theo Pretorius – Lafarge
  • Health and Safety Service Provider Excellence
    Noshcon – Paul Chamen and Ronelle Affinand
  • Certificates
    Anashree Maharaj – Health and Safety Officer PPC
    Marienky Lebudi - Health and Safety Officer PPC

Related Articles